Ecouter la musique d'ambiance

The Founder: Anthropologist and Market Researcher with over 15 years’ expertise in qualitative research

Photo Sylvain Flender

Sylvain Flender obtained his diploma from the Sorbonne, Paris, and has a double Masters in Social and Cultural Anthropology. He began specializing in Symbolic Anthropology early on to go beyond mere verbatims and understand what drives the individual.

Following that, he worked as criminologist for the Institute of Higher Studies in Internal Security (IHESI: Institut des Hautes Études de la Sécurité Intérieure).

Then in 1996 he discovered qualitative research with Research International, where he worked for 7 years, specializing in exploratory research into usages and images, managing international qual projects, automobile and telecom.

In 2003, he became freelance qualitative researcher for various institutes (Ipsos, Sorgem, Ifop, RI, DRC, Qualeia…) and continued developing consumer expertise (food, body care…)

Over the next 8 years, he became the official trainer with the Institut Supérieur du Marketing in qual techniques (group moderation, content analysis and international qual project management) for Orange and Renault.

In addition, he refined his approach and vision of research through training and qualification in Ericksonian Hypnosis, NLP (at the French Institute of Ericksonian Hypnosis), in Creativity with Guy Aznar and in Applied Semiotics at Limoges university.

At the same time, Sylvain concentrated on using applied anthropology in managing change with ACG, in work on “debelonging” in an automobile plant undergoing closure, and at Samsung in Korea on a program of change in corporate culture in one of its subsidiaries.

His approach and desire for multidisciplinarity led him to design new methodologies (creativity-infused hypnosis, in-depth qualitative interviewing, collage as tool of symbolic projection, myth-making…) but above all in developing a new approach to qualitative research, combining analytical strength and strategic objective.

Ecouter la musique d'ambiance

Le Fondateur : Anthropologue et Marketeur avec plus de 15 ans d’expertise dans les études qualitatives

Photo Sylvain Flender

Sylvain Flender est diplômé de l’université Paris V Renée Descartes de la Sorbonne et possède un double master en Anthropologie Sociale et Culturelle. Très tôt, il se spécialise en Anthropologie Symbolique pour aller au-delà du déclaratif et comprendre ce qui agit l’individu.

Il travaille ensuite en criminologie pour l’Institut des Hautes Études de la Sécurité Intérieure (IHESI).

Puis en 1996, il découvre les études qualitatives chez Research International, où il travaille pendant 7 ans et se spécialise dans les études exploratoires d’usages et d’images, la gestion de projets qualitatifs internationaux, l’automobile et les télécoms.

En 2003, il s’installe en tant que Qualitativiste Free Lance pour différents instituts (Ipsos, Sorgem, Ifop, RI, DRC, Qualeia…) et développe des expertises consumers (food, soin du corps…)

Durant ces 8 années, il devient avec l’Institut Supérieur du Marketing, le formateur attitré chez Orange et chez Renault aux techniques qualitatives (animation de groupe, analyse de contenu et gestion de projets qualitatifs internationaux).

Il affine également son approche et sa vision des études par des formations diplômantes en Hypnose Ericksonienne, en PNL (à l’Institut Français d’Hypnose Ericksonienne), en Créativité avec Guy Aznard ainsi qu’en Sémiotique Appliquée à l’université de Limoges.

Durant cette période, il s’emploie également à utiliser l’Anthropologie appliquée à la conduite du changement avec ACG, en session de « désappartenance » sur un site automobile en fermeture et en Corée chez Samsung en vue de changer la culture d’une de ses filiales.

Son approche et son désir de pluridisciplinarité l’amènent à concevoir de nouvelles méthodologies (l’hypnose intégrée à la créativité, l’entretien qualitatif en profondeur, le collage comme outil de projections symboliques, le myth-making…) mais surtout à développer une nouvelle approche des études qualitatives, qui allie puissance analytique et visée stratégique.