Ecouter la musique d'ambiance

Interviews: Narrating Reality Experienced

Often thought of as a basic technique, interviews are often done as open questionnaires, with the interviewer wanting the interviewee to reveal their habits, behavior and reasons for doing things.

This is based upon the erroneous postulate of a purely rational individual. We would do well to remember that the humanities (sociology, anthropology, psychology, psychoanalysis…) demonstrated long ago the weight of the irrational, the imagined, the emotional and even the unconscious.

So don’t count too much on consumers to tell you the truth when talking about habits and behaviors… “Know Thyself” is not a fact, but a tricky act of faith. Most of the time, consumers take a “rationalizing” stance ill-suited to introspection. Only rarely do they challenge these foundations, because doing so raises the specter of self-doubt and uncertainty.

For The New Anthropology, interviews are done in narrative mode alone (because explanation-driven interviews become self-controlled and censored) optimized by gentle conversational hypnosis techniques. During the interview, the interviewee does not explain, but just tells as a way of letting go. By this, she emotionally relives her habits and decisions. And her words, vocabulary and language reveal her emotional reality.

Ecouter la musique d'ambiance

L’Entretien : La Narration de la Réalité Vécue

Considéré comme une technique basique, l’entretien est trop souvent réalisé comme un questionnaire ouvert, où l’enquêteur s’attend à ce que l’enquêté lui dévoile ses pratiques, ses comportements et ses raisons d’agir.

Attitude qui s’appuie sur un postulat erroné d’un individu purement rationnel. Rappelons nous que les sciences humaines (sociologie, anthropologie, psychologie, psychanalyse) ont démontré le poids de l’Irrationnel, de l’Imaginaire, de l’Émotionnel voire de l’Inconscient.

Ne comptez donc pas sur la véracité des propos des consommateurs, quand ils vous expliquent leurs pratiques et comportements. Le « Connais-toi toi-même » n’est pas un fait établi mais un acte de foi difficile. Le consommateur s’ancre la plupart du temps dans une posture « rationalisante » inapte à l’introspection. Il s’interroge rarement sur ses fondations, car cet acte comporte le risque d’une remise en question et d’un ébranlement de soi.

Pour The New Anthropology, l’entretien se pratique uniquement sur un mode narratif (car le mode explicatif est contrôlé et autocensuré) optimisé par des techniques douce d’hypnose conversationnelle.  Durant l’entretien, l’interviewé n’explique pas mais raconte dans une forme de lâcher prise. Il revit alors émotionnellement ses pratiques et ses décisions. Et ses mots, son vocabulaire, son langage laissent transparaître sa réalité émotionnelle.