Ecouter la musique d'ambiance

Observation: Contraction of Self

Observation, as sold in qualitative research, is often but a remote and almost sanitized view of consumer targets.

And yet observation is a technique taken wholesale from anthropology, and originally consisted in integrating the observed person’s world “body and soul”. In anthropology, this sort of absorption is qualified as “participant” in the sense that the anthropologist observes from within this participation.

Doing this means forgetting yourself to better enter the observed person’s world. It presupposes a “contraction of self” in order to be absorbed within one’s research subject. Being both physical and emotional, it enables a deep understanding of the habit observed.

The New Anthropology has revived this method to better enter the targets’ world and achieve emotional understanding of what drives and motivates them. An understanding which leads onto effective action in Emotional Marketing.

Ecouter la musique d'ambiance

L’Observation : La Contraction de Soi

L’observation, telle qu’elle est vendue en études qualitatives, n’est souvent qu’un regard lointain et presque laborantin porté sur des cibles de consommateur.

Or, l’observation est une technique directement importée de l’anthropologie, qui consiste originellement à s’intégrer « corps et âme »  dans le monde de l’observé. En anthropologie, cette absorption est alors qualifiée de « participante », au sens où l’anthropologue observe de l’intérieur de sa participation.

Cette posture consiste à s’oublier pour mieux pénétrer le monde de l’observé. Elle suppose « une contraction de soi » pour être absorbé à son sujet d’étude. Cette posture permet alors une compréhension puissante, car corporelle et émotionnelle, de la pratique observée.

The New Anthropology a choisi de réhabiliter cette posture afin de mieux pénétrer le monde des cibles étudiées et d’accéder à une compréhension émotionnelle de ce qui les anime et les motive. Compréhension qui permet dans un second temps d’agir efficacement en Marketing émotionnel.